• social media
    • facebook
    • twitter
    • youtube
    • flickr
    • instagram
Astrophsyics

Physics of the Cosmos Program Analysis Group

239th Meeting of the American Astronomical Society
(Cancelled)

Salt Palace Convention Center
100 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
9–13 January 2022

All Virtual
Joint PAG Meeting (Hybrid) — Postponed IndefinitelyPhysPAG — Postponed
Astrophysics Science Smallsat Studies, ResultsX-ray SIG — Cancelled
Decadal Survey on Astronomy and Astrophysics (Astro2020) — CancelledGravitational Wave SIG
— Postponed
NASA Town Hall — Same date and time. Virtual in lieu of AAS In-personGamma Ray SIG
Diversity in Astronomy and Astrophysics at NASA — PostponedCosmic Ray SIG

Joint PAG Meeting (Hybrid)

Sunday, 9 January 2022
5:00pm–7:00pm Eastern / 4:00pm–6:00pm Central / 3:00pm–5:00pm Mountain / 2:00pm–4:00pm Pacific
(Postponed Indefinitely)

Astrophysics Science Smallsat Studies, Results

Monday, 10 January 2022
2:30pm–6:00pm Eastern / 1:30pm–5:00pm Central / 12:30pm–4:00pm Mountain / 11:30am–3:00pm Pacific

Agenda

All times given are Eastern Standard Time (EST).

2:30pm–2:55pm Asantha Cooray: MISE, The Mid-Infrared Sky Explorer
2:55pm–3:20pm Derek Buzasi: MAGIC, The Massive star AsteroseismoloGy Instrument Cubesat
3:20pm–3:45pm Jeremy Drake: NExtUP, The Normal-incidence Extreme Ultraviolet Photometer
3:45pm–4:10pm Baroujan Gorjian: BHAGERA, The Black Hole Accretion and Growth Experiment with Reverberation Analysis
4:10pm–4:20pm 10 min Break
4:20pm–4:45pm Michelle Hui: MoonBEAM, A Beyond Earth-orbit Gamma-ray Burst Detector for Multi-Messenger Astronomy
4:45pm–5:10pm Eliad Peretz: ORCAS, The Orbiting Configurable Artificial Star.
5:10pm–5:35pm Herman Marshall: GOSoX, The Globe Orbiting Soft X-ray Polarimeter
5:35pm–6:00pm Sara Seager: A Constellation of Small Satellites to Search for a Transiting Earth-Size Planet in an Earth-like Orbit about a Bright Sun-Like Star


Decadal Survey on Astronomy and Astrophysics (Astro2020)

Monday, 10 January 2022
2:45pm–3:45pm Eastern / 1:45pm–2:45pm Central / 12:45pm–1:45pm Mountain / 11:45am–12:45pm Pacific
(Cancelled)

NASA Town Hall

Tuesday, 11 January 2022
2:45pm–3:45pm EST / 1:45pm–2:45pm Central / 12:45pm–1:45pm Mountain / 11:45am–12:45pm Pacific
(Virtual in lieu of AAS In-person)

Agenda

All times given are Eastern Standard Time (EST).

  • Keynote presentation from NASA Astrophysics Division Director Paul Hertz. This presentation will feature an update on the status of NASA Astrophysics in light of the release of the Astro2020 Pathways to Discovery Decadal Survey.

Diversity in Astronomy & Astrophysics at NASA

Wednesday, 12 January 2022
4:00pm–5:30pm Eastern / 3:00pm–4:30pm Central / 2:00pm–3:30pm Mountain / 1:00pm–2:30pm Pacific
(Postponed)



PCOS Science Interest Group (SIG) Splinter Sessions

Physics of the Cosmos Program Analysis Group (PhysPAG)

Virtual
6 January 2022
12:00pm–1:00pm Eastern / 11:00am–12:00pm Central / 10:00am–11:00am Central / 9:00am–10:00am Pacific
(Postponed)

X-Ray SIG

Virtual
Wednesday, 19 January 2022
1:00pm–2:30pm Eastern / 12:00pm–1:30pm Central / 11:00am–12:30pm Mountain / 10:00am–11:30am Pacific
(CANCELLED)

Gravitational Wave (GW) SIG

7 January 2022
1:00pm–2:30pm Eastern / 12:00pm–1:30pm Central / 11:00am–12:30pm Mountain / 10:00am–11:30am Pacific
(Postponed)

Gamma Ray SIG

Virtual
28 January 2022
2:00pm–3:30pm Eastern / 1:00pm–2:30pm Central / 12:00pm–1:30pm Mountain / 11:00am–12:30pm Pacific

Agenda

All times given are Eastern Standard Time (EST).

Presentation Video

Justin Finke2:00pm–2:10pmGamma-ray Science Interest Group
(5+5 minutes) [Presentation]
Judy Racusin2:10pm–2:30pmSpace-based Gamma-ray Missions and the Decadal Review
(15+5 minutes) [Presentation]
Reshmi Mukherjee2:30pm–2:50pmGround-based Gamma-ray Missions and the Decadal Review
(15+5 minutes) [Presentation]
Jacqueline Beechert2:50pm–3:10pmCompton Spectrometer and Imager
(15+5 minutes) [Presentation]
Daniel Kocevski3:10pm–3:30pmStarburst
(15+5 minutes)

Cosmic Ray SIG

Virtual
18 January 2022
1:00pm–2:30pm Eastern / 12:00pm–1:30pm Central / 11:00am–12:30pm Mountain / 10:00am–11:30am Pacific

Agenda

Video Presentation

Marco MuzioMultimessenger probes of UHECR source environments & their connection to astrophysical neutrinos [Presentation]
Claire GuepinPulsars as cosmic-ray sources [Presentation]
Chad BustardGeV Cosmic Ray Transport: Confronting Simulations with Observations [Presentation]
Joseph LazioA Long Wavelength View of Cosmic Rays: Cosmic Rays in the Context of Multimessenger Astronomy [Presentation]
Zsuzsa MarkaStatistical Inference for Multimessenger Astrophysics [Presentation]



The European Space Agency LISA observatory

PhysCOS News

See our new Events Calendar

Program News and Announcements

  • Sign up for PhysCOS News and Announcements

  • 2 December 2022
    The 2022 AGU Fall Meeting – 12–16 December 2022, Chicago, IL »  Details.
    2 December 2022
    Join the New Great Observatories Science Analysis Group »  Details.
    2 December 2022
    New Gamma-ray Transient Network Science Analysis Group »  Details.
    2 December 2022
    Inclusion Plan Best Practices Workshop Presentations and Recordings Posted »  Details.
    2 December 2022
    ROSES-22 D.13 Astrophysics Pioneers Revised Text »  Details.
    2 December 2022
    ROSES-22 F.5 FINESST Proposals due 7 February 2023 »  Details.
    17 November 2022
    LEM Science Workshop 28 February – 3 March 2023 »  Details.
    15 November 2022
    Call for Nominations to Serve on the Executive Committee (EC) of NASA’s Physics of the Cosmos Program Analysis Group (PhysPAG) »  Details.
    14 November 2022
    First XRISM Data Analysis Workshop »  Details.
    14 November 2022
    Physics of the Cosmos Abbreviation Change »  Details.
    12 October 2022
    ROSES-22: NOI Due Date Delay for D.3 Astrophysics Research and Analysis and D.7 Strategic Astrophysics Technology; inclusion plan change »  Details.
    12 October 2022
    ROSES-22: D.9 NuSTAR GO Major Text Revision »  Details.
  • PhysCOS News Archive
  • Project News

    Related News


    Links

    NASA logo
    • NASA Official: Phil Newman
    • Web Curator: Pat Tyler
    Goddard Space Flight Center
    privacy