• social media
    • facebook
    • twitter
    • youtube
    • flickr
    • instagram
Astrophsyics

Physics of the Cosmos Program Analysis Group

240th Meeting of the American Astronomical Society

Pasadena, California, 12–16 June 2022

Welcome!

The Physics of the Cosmos (PCOS) Program lies at the intersection of physics and astronomy. Its purpose is to explore some of the most fundamental questions regarding the physical forces and laws of the universe.

NASA Joint PAG Session

Sunday, 12 June 2022
3:00–5:00 PM Pacific | 4:00–6:00 PM Mountain | 5:00–7:00 PM Central | 6:00–8:00 PM Eastern
Location: Sheraton Pasadena Hotel, Piazza Room

Agenda

3:00–4:30 PMKeynote speaker: Paul Hertz, NASA Astrophysics Division Director
Presentation [PDF]
Followed by presentations on Astrophysics technology development
4:30–4:45 PMThe 2022 APD Technology Gap List
Opher Ganel, PCOS/COR Technologist
Presentation [PDF]
Abstract: We will present the results from the community-submitted technology gaps process which factored in the recommendations of Astro2020. We will describe the process taken to collect, evaluate, disposition, and prioritize the gaps along with their assessment criteria. We will also show how to publicly access all the details.
4:30–4:45 PMStage 1 Technology Activities for the Next Great Observatories
 Nick Siegler, ExEP Program Chief Technologist
Presentation [PDF]
Abstract: NASA's Astrophysics Division has rolled out a response to Astro2020 that includes a focus on pre-cursor science and technology development. Here we will present the expected technology development activities during Stage 1. We will describe expected deliverables, the team that will serve in developing the high-level roadmaps to close the technology gaps, and how the community can get involved.

Splinter Session to Solicit Feedback on NASA Hubble Fellowship Program

Wednesday, 15 June 2022
10:00 AM Pacific | 11:00 AM Mountain | 12:00 PM Central | 1:00 PM Eastern

At the 240th AAS meeting, there will be a splinter session consisting of a short overview by NHFP Program Scientist Patricia Knezek, followed by a panel-moderated discussion focused on obtaining feedback from the community abouve t the relatipriority of the recommendations and thoughts about effective ways to address the recommendations. The community is encouraged to attend either in-person at the AAS, or via WebEx:

Community Survey: Whether you can attend the AAS splinter session or not, we solicit your input via a form linked at the NHFP website. Prompt community input will help prioritize the splinter session discussions, but the survey in this form will remain available to the public until 1 August 2022.


PCOS Program Analysis Group (PhysPAG) Meeting

Sunday, 12 June 2022
1:00–3:00 PM Pacific | 2:00–4:00 PM Mountain | 3:00–5:00 PM Central | 4:00–6:00 PM Eastern

Agenda

1:00–1:20 PMState of the Program Office
Brian Williams
Physics of the Cosmos Chief Scientist
Presentation [PDF]
 
1:20–1:40 PM Our New Epoch of Discovery
Grant Tremblay
PhysPAG Executive Committee Chair
Presentation [PDF]
 
1:40–2:30 PMModerated Community Discussion
This is a remarkable time in the history of our field, and the first time many of us will be meeting in person. We know the community has much to discuss, and we'll use this hour to facilitate that. We welcome all questions and discussion-starters from both in-person and virtual attendees. Members of the PhysPAG EC will serve as moderators and panelists.

PCOS Science Interest Group (SIG) Sessions

  • X-Ray SIG [Agenda]
    Monday, 13 June 2022
    1:00–3:00 PM Pacific | 2:00–4:00 PM Mountain | 3:00–5:00 PM Central | 4:00–6:00 PM Eastern

  • Gamma Ray SIG (Virtual Only) [Agenda]
    Thursday, 23 June 2022
    11:00 AM–1:00 PM Pacific | 12:00–2:00 PM Mountain | 1:00–3:00 PM Central | 2:00–4:00 PM Eastern
  • Hyperwall Talks

    DateTimeSpeakerTitle
    Sunday 12 June18:16–18:28Grant Tremblay
    Astrophysicist, APD
    The New Great Observatories

    Technology Development for PCOS Science

    Examples of strategic technology developments funded by the Astrophysics Division, and managed by the PCOS and COR Program Offices.

    Technology Slides

    For more information about these technologies, download the PDF or visit our Technology Database.

    How you can get involved

  • Join a Science Interest Group: https://pcos.gsfc.nasa.gov/physpag/sigs-sags.php

  • Postdoctoral program: https://npp.usra.edu

  • NASA career opportunities: https://www.nasa.gov/careers

  • NASA Internships: https://intern.nasa.gov

  • Sign up for newsletter: https://pcos.gsfc.nasa.gov/pcosnews-mailing-list.php

  • The European Space Agency LISA observatory

    PCOS News

    See our new Events Calendar

    Program News and Announcements

    1 August 2022
    Precursor Science Workshop II: Request for Brief Presentations on Facilities That Could Be Made Available for Precursor Science Investigation Proposals »  Details.
    1 August 2022
    SMD Bridge Program Workshop (17–21 October 2022; Virtual) »  Details.
    1 August 2022
    Presentations Posted for APAC Meeting (20–21 July 2022) »  Details.
    18 July 2022
    New Astrophysics Division Director Announced »  Details.
    18 July 2022
    Precursor Science Workshop II Rescheduled to September 7–9, 2022 »  Details.
    14 July 2022
    NASA Job Announcement: Program Scientist at NASA Headquarters »  Details.
    14 July 2022
    JWST First Images Released »  Details.
    1 July 2022
    Astrophysics Probe Announcement of Opportunity Schedule Update »  Details.
    1 July 2022
    NICER GO – Cycle 5 Revised Text and Phase-1 Due Date Delay »  Details.
    1 July 2022
    Swift Cycle 19 Update on Joint Observations with NICER »  Details.
    1 July 2022
    Inaugural NASA Sounding Rocket Symposium »  Details.
    1 July 2022
    1st Precursor Science Workshop Summary Report and Worksheets Posted »  Details.
    5 April 2022
    The NASA Physics of the Cosmos (PCOS) Program Office is organizing a Time Domain and Multi-Messenger Astrophysics (TDAMM) Initiative Workshop to be held in the Annapolis area on August 22nd–24th 2022 »  Details.

    Project News

    Related News


    Links

    NASA logo
    • NASA Official: Phil Newman
    • Web Curator: Pat Tyler
    Goddard Space Flight Center
    privacy