• social media
    • facebook
    • twitter
    • youtube
    • flickr
    • instagram
Astrophsyics

Physics of the Cosmos Program Analysis Group

240th Meeting of the American Astronomical Society

Pasadena, California, 12–16 June 2022

Physics of the Cosmos Program Analysis Group (PhysPAG) Meeting

Sunday, 12 June 2022
1:00–3:00 PM Pacific | 2:00–4:00 PM Mountain | 3:00–5:00 PM Central | 4:00–6:00 PM Eastern

Agenda

1:00–1:20 PMState of the Program Office
Brian Williams
Physics of the Cosmos Chief Scientist
Presentation [PDF]
 
1:20–1:40 PM Our New Epoch of Discovery
Grant Tremblay
PhysPAG Executive Committee Chair
Presentation [PDF]
 
1:40–2:30 PMModerated Community Discussion
This is a remarkable time in the history of our field, and the first time many of us will be meeting in person. We know the community has much to discuss, and we'll use this hour to facilitate that. We welcome all questions and discussion-starters from both in-person and virtual attendees. Members of the PhysPAG EC will serve as moderators and panelists.
Presentation

NASA Joint PAG Session

Sunday, 12 June 2022
3:00–5:00 PM Pacific | 4:00–6:00 PM Mountain | 5:00–7:00 PM Central | 6:00–8:00 PM Eastern

Agenda

3:00–4:30 PMKeynote speaker: Paul Hertz, NASA Astrophysics Division Director
Presentation [PDF]
Followed by presentations on Astrophysics technology development
4:30–4:45 PMThe 2022 APD Technology Gap List
Opher Ganel, PCOS/COR Technologist
Presentation [PDF]
Abstract: We will present the results from the community-submitted technology gaps process which factored in the recommendations of Astro2020. We will describe the process taken to collect, evaluate, disposition, and prioritize the gaps along with their assessment criteria. We will also show how to publicly access all the details.
4:30–4:45 PMStage 1 Technology Activities for the Next Great Observatories
 Nick Siegler, ExEP Program Chief Technologist
Presentation [PDF]
Abstract: NASA's Astrophysics Division has rolled out a response to Astro2020 that includes a focus on pre-cursor science and technology development. Here we will present the expected technology development activities during Stage 1. We will describe expected deliverables, the team that will serve in developing the high-level roadmaps to close the technology gaps, and how the community can get involved.

X-Ray Science Interest Group (XR SIG) Meeting

Monday, 13 June 2022
1:00–3:00 PM Pacific | 2:00–4:00 PM Mountain | 3:00–5:00 PM Central | 4:00–6:00 PM Eastern
Location: Pasadena Convention Center, Conference Room 103

Agenda


Gamma-Ray Science Interest Group Meeting

Virtual Only
Thursday, 23 June 2022
11:00 AM–1:00 PM Pacific | 12:00–2:00 PM Mountain | 1:00–3:00 PM Central | 2:00–4:00 PM Eastern

Agenda

11:00–11:05 AMIntroduction to GRSIGJustin Finke
11:05–11:20 AMDecadal Review and Space-based Gamma-ray AstronomyJordan Goodman
11:20–11:35 AMInterplanetary Network Science Action GroupEric Burns
11:35–12:30 AMOpen questions and Discussion 


  • Session Video



  • PhysCOS News

    See our new Events Calendar

    Program News and Announcements

  • Sign up for PhysCOS News and Announcements

  • 25 January
    Astronomy and Astrophysics Advisory Committee Meeting 26–27 January, 2023 »  Details.
    25 January
    AWESOM SAG Virtual Kickoff Meeting 27 January 2023 »  Details.
    25 January
    Cosmic Ray SIG Virtual Forum 27 January 2023 »  Details.
    25 January
    Upcoming Student/Postdoc Opportunities at NASA »  Details.
    19 January
    Deadline for PhysPAG Executive Committee Nominations »  Details.
    19 January
    ROSES-22: D.15 LISA Preparatory Science Mandatory NOIs Now Due January 20, 2023 »  Details.
    19 January
    ROSES-22: D.16 Astrophysics Decadal Survey Precursor Science Final Text and Due Dates »  Details.
    6 January
    Time Domain and Multi-Messenger Astrophysics Workshop White Paper Released »  Details.
    6 January
    ROSES-22 D.19 Ultraviolet Transient Astronomy Satellite Participating Scientists Program »  Details.
    6 January
    First UVEX Community Workshop Announcement »  Details.
    20 December 2022
    ROSES-22: D.16 Astrophysics Decadal Survey Precursor Science Final Text and Due Dates »  Details.
    20 December 2022
    ROSES-22 D.14: Roman Mission Research and Support Participation Opportunities Final Text and Due Dates »  Details.
    20 December 2022
    ROSES-22: F.15 High Priority Open-Source Science Final Text »  Details.
    20 December 2022
    ROSES-22: D.10 TESS General Investigator Program Final Text and Due Date Released »  Details.
    20 December 2022
    NEX Job Announcement: Senior Scientist for Astrobiology, Planetary Science Division »  Details.
    2 December 2022
    ROSES-22 D.13 Astrophysics Pioneers Revised Text »  Details.
    2 December 2022
    ROSES-22 F.5 FINESST Proposals due 7 February 2023 »  Details.
    17 November 2022
    LEM Science Workshop 28 February – 3 March 2023 »  Details.
  • PhysCOS News Archive
  • Project News

    Related News


    Links

    NASA logo
    • NASA Official: Phil Newman
    • Web Curator: Pat Tyler
    Goddard Space Flight Center
    privacy