• social media
    • facebook
    • twitter
    • youtube
    • flickr
    • instagram
Astrophsyics

Physics of the Cosmos Program Analysis Group

APS April Meeting 2021

17–20 April 2021 ONLINE

PCOS-related Activities at the April 2021 APS Meeting

UNFORTUNATELY THE LIVE PCOS SESSIONS BELOW ARE ACCESSIBLE ONLY TO REGISTERED ATTENDEES OF THE APS APRIL MEETING

PCOS and PhysPAG Town Hall Minisymposium (Session B21)

Sponsoring Division: DGRAV, DAP
When: Saturday 17 April 2021, 11:45 AM Eastern/10:45 AM Central/9:45 AM Mountain/8:45 AM Pacific
Chair: Graça Rocha (NASA JPL)

Agenda

ALL TIMES GIVEN FOR TALKS ARE CENTRAL DAYLIGHT TIME

10:45–10:57Brian Williams (NASA GSFC) – Overview of PCOS [PDF]
10:57–11:09Ryan Hickox (Dartmouth) –Overview of PhysPAG [PDF]
11:09–11:33Joe Silk (Johns Hopkins) – Unveiling the Early Universe with the Spectral Distortions of the CMB [PDF]
11:33–11:57 Joseph Lazio (NASA JPL) – Extending the Cosmic Frontier into the Dark Ages [PDF]
11:57–12:21Jack Burns (U. Colorado) – A Lunar Farside Low Radio Frequency Array for Dark Ages 21-cm Cosmology [PDF]
12:21–12:33Grant Tremblay (Harvard) – The Once & Future Great Observatories

Cosmic Ray SIG Minisymposium (Session D21)

Sponsoring Division: DAP
When: Saturday 17 April 2021, 2:30 PM Eastern/1:30 PM Central/12:30 PM Mountain/11:30 AM Pacific
Chair: Marcos Santander (U. Alabama)

Agenda

ALL TIMES GIVEN FOR TALKS ARE CENTRAL DAYLIGHT TIME

1:30–1:35Marcos Santander (U. Alabama) – Welcome and Introduction to the CR-SIG [PDF]
1:35–2:10Frank Schroeder (U. Delaware) – Ultra-high-energy Cosmic Rays: Recent Results and Future Plans [PDF]
2:10–2:27Andres Romero-Wolf (NASA JPL) – Particle Astrophysics at Zettavolt Energies with Radio Detectors in Low Lunar Orbit [PDF]
2:27–2:44Remy Prechelt (U. Hawaii) – Prowling for Ultrahigh Energy Neutrinos with PUEO [PDF]
2:44–3:01Lawrence Wiencke (Colorado School of Mines) – The EUSO-SPB2 Mission [PDF]
3:01–3:18Angela V. Olinto (U. Chicago) & John Krizmanic (NASA GSFC) – The Roadmap to the POEMMA Mission [PDF]

Inflation Probe SIG Minisymposium (Session K21)

Sponsoring Division: DAP
When: Sunday 18 April, 2:30 PM Eastern/1:30 PM Central/12:30 PM Mountain/11:30 AM Pacific
Chair: Kevin Huffenberger (Florida State U.)

Agenda

ALL TIMES GIVEN FOR TALKS ARE CENTRAL DAYLIGHT TIME

1:30–1:37Graça Rocha (NASA JPL) – Inflation Probe SIG Overview [PDF]
1:37–1:53Shaul Hanany (U. Minnesota) – Science Reach of PICO – a New, Probe-Class CMB Space Mission [PDF]
1:53–2:09Adrian Lee (UC Berkeley) – LiteBIRD Overview [PDF]
2:09–2:25Al Kogut (NASA GSFC) – The Primordial Inflation Polarization Explorer (PIPER): Testing Inflation on Large Angular Scales
2:25–2:41Jeff Filippini (U. Illinois) – The First Flight of SPIDER: Probing Inflation from the Stratosphere [PDF]
2:41–2:46Discussion
2:46–2:53Mathieu Remazeille (U. Manchester) – Forecasts on Foregrounds Removal and CMB B-mode Recovery with the Probe-class Mission Concept PICO [PDF]
2:53–3:00Rahul Datta (Johns Hopkins) – The Primordial Inflation Polarization Explorer (PIPER): Characterization of the Receiver and Detector Arrays [PDF]
3:00–3:07Johanna Nagy (Wash. U. St Louis) – Foreground Component Separation for SPIDER's Primordial B-mode Constraint [PDF]
3:07–3:14TBA – LiteBIRD related
3:14–3:18Discussion

Gamma Ray SIG Minisymposium (Session L21)

Sponsoring Division: DAP
When: Sunday 18 April, 4:45 PM Eastern/3:45 PM Central/2:45 PM Mountain/1:45 PM Pacific
Chair: Bindu Rani (NASA GSFC)

Agenda

ALL TIMES GIVEN FOR TALKS ARE CENTRAL DAYLIGHT TIME

3:45–3:50Bindu Rani (NASA GSFC) – Gamma Ray SIG Overview [PDF]
3:50–4:14Dave Thompson (NASA GSFC) – Maximizing the Scientific Return of the Time Domain Astronomy [PDF]
4:14–4:38Raffaella Margutti (Northwestern U.) – Gamma-ray Novae [PDF]
4:38–5:02Jamie Holder (U. Delaware) – Gamma-ray Transients [PDF]
5:02–5:26Elias Aydi (Michigan State U.) – Gamma-ray Binaries
5:26–5:33Open Discussion

Cosmic Structure SIG Minisymposium (Session Q21)

Sponsoring Division: DGRAV
When: Monday 19 April, 11:45 AM Eastern/10:45 AM Central/9:45 AM Mountain/8:45 AM Pacific
Chair: Graça Rocha (NASA JPL)

Agenda

ALL TIMES GIVEN FOR TALKS ARE CENTRAL DAYLIGHT TIME

10:45–10:55Kevin Huffenberger (Florida State U.) – Update on Cosmic Structure SIG [PDF]
10:55–11:25Elisabeth Krause (U. Arizona) – Update on SPHEREx
11:25–11:55Kris Pardo (NASA JPL) – Update on Roman Space Telescope [PDF]
11:55–12:33Open Discussion [PDF]

X Ray SIG Minisymposium (Session S21)

Sponsoring Division: DGRAV
When: Monday 19 April, 2:30 PM Eastern/1:30 PM Central/12:30 PM Mountain/11:30 AM Pacific
Chair: Grant Tremblay (Harvard)

Agenda

ALL TIMES GIVEN FOR TALKS ARE CENTRAL DAYLIGHT TIME

1:30–1:42Ryan Hickox (Dartmouth) – Introduction to XRSIG and Highlights in X-ray Astronomy [PDF]
1:42–2:06Sharon Morsink (U. Alberta) – The Neutron Star Equation of State with NICER [PDF]
2:06–2:30Mengjiao Xiao (MIT) – Constraints on Axionlike Particles from a Hard X-Ray Observation of Betelgeuse [PDF]
2:30–2:54Dominic Sicilian (U. Miami) – X-ray Constraints on Sterile Neutrino Dark Matter [PDF]
2:54–3:18Grant Tremblay (Harvard), Jillian Bellovary (CUNY QCC), and Ryan Hickox (Dartmouth) – Open Business and Discussion



PCOS News

See our new Events Calendar

Program News and Announcements

6 May 2022
ROSES-22: Opportunities for Community Comment on Draft D.14 Roman Space Telescope Research and Support Participation »  Details.
6 May 2022
Workshop on Unique Science from the Moon in the Artemis Era 7–9 June 2022 »  Details.
6 May 2022
ROSES-22: Final Text and Due Date for D.17 X-Ray Imaging and Spectroscopy Mission Guest Scientist Program »  Details.
2 May 2022
NASA Astrophysics Town Hall, Tuesday, 3 May 2022 »  Details.
26 April 2022
National Academies Board on Physics and Astronomy — Spring 2022 Meeting »  Details.
11 April 2022
NASA Astrophysics Division Town Hall | May 3, 2022 »  Details.
8 April 2022
NASA Astrophysics Advisory Committee Members Sought »  Details.
5 April 2022
The NASA Physics of the Cosmos (PCOS) Program Office is organizing a Time Domain and Multi-Messenger Astrophysics (TDAMM) Initiative Workshop to be held in the Annapolis area on August 22nd–24th 2022 »  Details.
22 March 2022
Science Mission Directorate Seeks Volunteer Reviewers »  Details.
19 January 2022
NASA PCOS/COR Program Office Announces Upcoming International Workshop on Time Domain Astronomy/Multi-Messenger Astrophysics (TDAMM) »  Details.

Project News

Related News


Links

NASA logo
  • NASA Official: Phil Newman
  • Web Curator: Pat Tyler
Goddard Space Flight Center
privacy