• social media
    • facebook
    • twitter
    • youtube
    • flickr
    • instagram
Astrophsyics

Physics of the Cosmos News

Space Studies Board Meeting

17 May 2021

The National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine (NASEM) will hold a joint public meeting of its Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board (ASEB) and Space Studies Board (SSB) next week, 24–27 May 2021.

Highlights of this meeting for PCOS members include:

  • Tuesday 25 May (beginning 11a Eastern/10a Central/9a Mountain/8a Pacific)
    • Address by the NASA Administrator Bill Nelson
    • Update on LISA Technology and Science — Dr. Stefano Vitale (LISA Technology Principal Investigator)
    • LISA/ESA Programmatic Plans — Dr. Fabio Favata (Head, ESA Science Planning and Community Coordination Office) and Dr. Paul McNamara, (ESA Astronomy and Astrophysics Mission Coordinator)
    • Update from NASA Space Technology Mission Directorate (STMD) — Dr. Jim Reuter (STMD Associate Administrator)
  • Wednesday 26 May (beginning 11a Eastern/10a Central/9a Mountain/8a Pacific)
    • Update and Discussion with NASA Science Mission Directorate (SMD) — Dr. Thomas Zurbuchen (SMD Associate Administrator)
    • Keynote Science Talk — Dr. Jocelyn Bell Burnell
    • Update from the Committee on Astronomy & Astrophysics (CAA) — Dr. Thomas Greene and Dr. Vicky Kalogera (CAA Co-Chairs)
    • Update from the Committee on Biological and Physical Sciences in Space (CBPSS) — Dr. Dava Newman (CBPSS Co-Chair)
  • Thursday 27 May (beginning 12:30p Eastern/11:30a Central/10:30a Mountain/9:30 a Pacific)
    • Update from National Science Foundation (NSF) — Dr. Sean Jones (Assistant Director, Mathematical and Physical Sciences Directorate)

More details can be found on the meeting agenda. Interested parties can watch the meeting via this livestream.


The European Space Agency LISA observatory

PCOS News

See our new Events Calendar

Program News and Announcements

6 May 2022
ROSES-22: Opportunities for Community Comment on Draft D.14 Roman Space Telescope Research and Support Participation »  Details.
6 May 2022
Workshop on Unique Science from the Moon in the Artemis Era 7–9 June 2022 »  Details.
6 May 2022
ROSES-22: Final Text and Due Date for D.17 X-Ray Imaging and Spectroscopy Mission Guest Scientist Program »  Details.
2 May 2022
NASA Astrophysics Town Hall, Tuesday, 3 May 2022 »  Details.
26 April 2022
National Academies Board on Physics and Astronomy — Spring 2022 Meeting »  Details.
11 April 2022
NASA Astrophysics Division Town Hall | May 3, 2022 »  Details.
8 April 2022
NASA Astrophysics Advisory Committee Members Sought »  Details.
5 April 2022
The NASA Physics of the Cosmos (PCOS) Program Office is organizing a Time Domain and Multi-Messenger Astrophysics (TDAMM) Initiative Workshop to be held in the Annapolis area on August 22nd–24th 2022 »  Details.
22 March 2022
Science Mission Directorate Seeks Volunteer Reviewers »  Details.
19 January 2022
NASA PCOS/COR Program Office Announces Upcoming International Workshop on Time Domain Astronomy/Multi-Messenger Astrophysics (TDAMM) »  Details.

Project News

Related News


Links

NASA logo
  • NASA Official: Phil Newman
  • Web Curator: Pat Tyler
Goddard Space Flight Center
privacy