• social media
    • facebook
    • twitter
    • youtube
    • flickr
    • instagram
    • googleplus
Astrophsyics

Physics of the Cosmos News

New Phase-1 Proposal Due Date for NICER Guest Observer Cycle 3

17 August 2020

The Neutron Star Interior Composition Explorer (NICER) is an X-ray experiment on the International Space Station dedicated to high-resolution timing and spectroscopy of neutron stars and other rapidly variable X-ray sources in the 0.2–12 keV band. ROSES-2020 Amendment 48 releases revised text and a new due date for Guest Observer (GO) proposals for NICER Cycle 3 (1 March 2021 - 28 February 2022), solicited through ROSES-2020 element D.11. Phase 1 proposals are now due by 17 November 2020, 4:30p Eastern/3:30p Central/2:30p Mountain/1:30p Pacific via the Astrophysics Research Knowledgebase (ARK) Remote Proposal System (RPS). Proposals will be evaluated using dual-anonymous peer review.

Proposers also have the opportunity to request coordinated NuSTAR observations of their proposed NICER targets. A total of up to 400 ks of NuSTAR observing time is available within this Cycle.

Proposers may request, and must justify, an exclusive-use period of up to 6 months for GO data in this Cycle; by default, data will be subject to the existing NICER data-release policy with no exclusive-use period. Validated data are made available in the public High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC) archive within two weeks of acquisition.

Proposals will be submitted in two stages, with Phase 1 focusing on the science goals and observation parameters. Selected Phase 1 proposers will be invited to submit a budget for Phase 2.

Direct technical questions concerning this program element to Keith Gendreau at Keith.C.Gendreau@nasa.gov and programmatic questions to Daniel Evans at Daniel.A.Evans@nasa.gov.


The European Space Agency LISA observatory


PCOS News

Program News and Announcements

22 September 2021
Applications Sought for PhysPAG Executive Committee »  Details.
22 September 2021
Astrophysics Advisory Committee Meeting 13 & 15 October 2021 »  Details.
10 September 2021
2021 Astrophysics Explorer Solicitations Released »  Details.
13 August 2021
ULTRASAT Science Workshop »  Details.
13 August 2021
ROSES-21 Amendment 29: Updates to D.11 NICER Guest Observer Cycle 4 »  Details.
29 July 2021
Life and Physical Sciences Decadal Survey Call for White Papers. »  Details.

Project News

Related News


Links

NASA logo
  • NASA Official: Phil Newman
  • Web Curator: Pat Tyler
Goddard Space Flight Center
privacy