National Aeronautics and Space Administration

## Headquarters

Washington, DC 20546-0001



November 19, 2018

From: SMD/ Director, Astrophysics Division

RE: Appointment of new members of the Physics of the Cosmos Program Analysis Group (PhysPAG) Executive Committee (EC)

## Background:

As stated in the PhysPAG Terms of Reference, the nominal term of the PhysPAG Executive Committee members is three years. Three members of the PhysPAG EC are rotating off in December 2018. The remaining members of the EC have terms expiring after December 2018 (see Table 3). Accordingly, new members of the PhysPAG EC need to be appointed for terms starting in December 2019 and ending in December 2021.

On September 12, 2018, NASA HQ issued a "Dear Colleague" letter to the U.S. community seeking expressions of interest in joining the PhysPAG EC. The deadline for nominations to the PhysPAG EC was October 19, 2019. A total of 6 applications were received.

## Criteria for Selection:

The following criteria and considerations were adopted for selection of the EC nominees:

- 1. New members of the PhysPAG EC should be recognized experts in fields pertinent to the Physics of the Cosmos Program's science and technology objectives, and should have demonstrated ability to lead studies or interest groups in the areas central to this theme;
- 2. Balance among the primary PCOS science disciplines (e.g., Particle Astrophysics, Gamma-ray Astrophysics, X-ray Astrophysics, Gravitational Wave Astrophysics, CMB, and Dark Energy);
- 3. Broad and diverse representation of the PCOS community.

## Selections:

I am appointing the individuals listed in Table 1 to serve as PhysPAG EC members with terms to start in December 2018 and end in December 2021. In addition, I am appointing Dr. Tomsick to be co-Chair of the X-ray Interest Group, in addition to his current appointment as co-Chair of the Gamma-ray Interest Group. The final composition of the EC is presented in Table 2.

Note: The key to the "expertise" of each EC member is provided in the Appendix to this memorandum.

Table 1: New members of the PhysPAG EC

Name	Institution	Expertise
Ryan Hickox	Dartmouth College	XRSIG
Marcos Santander	University Of Alabama	CRSIG

Table 2: PhysPAG EC membership for 2019

Name	Institution	Expertise	End of Term
John Conklin (Chair)	Univ. of Florida	GWSIG	Dec-19
James Beatty	Ohio State Univ.	CRSIG	Dec-19
Sylvain Guiriec	GWU	GRSIG	Dec-19
Kelly Holley-Bockelmann	Vanderbilt	GWSIG	Dec-19
John Tomsick	Berkeley	GRSIG, XRSIG	Dec-19
Kevin M Huffenberger	Florida State Univ.	CoSIG, IPSIG	Dec-20
James E Rhoads	GSFC	CoSIG	Dec-20
Graça Rocha (Vice Chair)	JPL	IPSIG, CoSIG	Dec-20
Abigail G Vieregg	Univ. of Chicago	IPSIG, CRSIG	Dec-20
Nicolas Yunes	Montana State Univ.	GWSIG	Dec-20
Ryan Hickox	Dartmouth College	XRSIG	Dec-21
Marcos Santander	University of Alabama	CRSIG	Dec-21

Paul Hertz

Director, Astrophysics Division Science Mission Directorate

Appendix: PhysPAG Science Interest Groups

CoSIG Cosmic Structure Science Interest Group
CRSIG Cosmic Ray Science Interest Group
GWSIG Gravitational Wave Science Interest Group
IPSIG Inflation Probe Science Interest Group

XRSIG X-ray Science Interest Group

GRSIG Gamma-ray Science Interest Group

Ref: https://pcos.gsfc.nasa.gov/physpag/physpag-sigs.php