National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Headquarters Washington, DC 20546-0001



December 29, 2017

From: SMD/ Director, Astrophysics Division

RE: Appointment of new members of the Physics of the Cosmos Program Analysis Group (PhysPAG) Executive Committee (EC)

Background:

As stated in the PhysPAG Terms of Reference, the nominal term of the PhysPAG Executive Committee members is three years. Six members of the PhysPAG EC are rotating off in December 2017. The remaining members of the EC have terms expiring after December 2017 (see Table 3). Accordingly, new members of the PhysPAG EC need to be appointed for terms starting in December 2017 and ending in December 2020.

On September 26, 2017, NASA HQ issued a "Dear Colleague" letter to the U.S. community seeking expressions of interest in joining the PhysPAG EC. The deadline for nominations to the PhysPAG EC was October 16, 2017. A total of 19 applications were received.

Criteria for Selection:

The following criteria and considerations were adopted for selection of the EC nominees:

- 1. New members of the PhysPAG EC should be recognized experts in fields pertinent to the Physics of the Cosmos Program's science and technology objectives, and should have demonstrated ability to lead studies or interest groups in the areas central to this theme;
- 2. Balance among the primary PCOS science disciplines (e.g., Particle Astrophysics, Gamma-ray Astrophysics, X-ray Astrophysics, Gravitational Wave Astrophysics, CMB, and Dark Energy). Accordingly, these areas should be represented at approximately equal levels;
- 3. Broad and diverse representation of the PCOS community.

Selections:

I am appointing the individuals listed in Table 1 to serve as PhysPAG EC members with terms to start in December 2017 and end in December 2020. In addition, I am extending the terms of two current PhysPAG EC members by one year, as shown in Table 2. I hereby appoint Dr. John Conklin as PhysPAG EC Chair, and appoint Dr. Graca Rocha as PhysPAG EC Vice Chair. The final composition of the EC is presented in Table 3.

Note: The key to the "expertise" of each EC member is provided in the Appendix to this memorandum.

Name	Institution	Expertise
Kevin M Huffenberger	Florida State University	CoSIG / IPSIG
James E Rhoads	GSFC	CoSIG
Graça Rocha	JPL	IPSIG / CoSIG
Abigail G Vieregg	Univ. of Chicago	IPSIG / CRSIG
Nicolas Yunes	Montana State Univ.	GWSIG

Table 1: New members of the PhysPAG EC

Table 2: Current members of the PhysPAG EC with one-year extensions

Name	Institution	Expertise
John Conklin (Chair)	Univ. of Florida	GWSIG
Henric Krawczynski	Washington Univ. in St. Louis	GRSIG

Table 3: PhysPAG EC membership for 2018

Name	Institution	Expertise	End of Term
John Conklin (Chair)	Univ. of Florida	GWSIG	Dec-19
Henric Krawczynski	Washington Univ. in St. Louis	GRSIG	Dec-18
Ralph Kraft	SAO	XRSIG	Dec-18
Igor Moskalenko	Stanford	CRSIG	Dec-18
James Beatty	Ohio State Univ.	CRSIG	Dec-19
Sylvain Guiriec	GWU	GRSIG	Dec-19
Kelly Holley-Bockelmann	Vanderbilt	GWSIG	Dec-19
J. Tomsick	Berkeley	GRSIG	Dec-19
Kevin M Huffenberger	Florida State Univ.	<u>CoSIG / IPSIG</u>	Dec-20
James E Rhoads	GSFC	CoSIG	Dec-20
Graça Rocha (Vice Chair)	JPL	IPSIG / CoSIG	Dec-20
Abigail G Vieregg	Univ. of Chicago	IPSIG / CRSIG	Dec-20
Nicolas Yunes	Montana State Univ.	GWSIG	Dec-20

Paul Hertz Director, Astrophysics Division Science Mission Directorate

Appendix: PhysPAG Science Interest Groups

CoSIG	Cosmic Structure Science Interest Group
CRSIG	Cosmic Ray Science Interest Group
GWSIG	Gravitational Wave Science Interest Group
IPSIG	Inflation Probe Science Interest Group
XRSIG	X-ray Science Interest Group
GRSIG	Gamma-ray Science Interest Group

Ref: https://pcos.gsfc.nasa.gov/physpag/physpag-sigs.php