National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Headquarters

Washington, DC 20546-0001



December 21, 2021

From: SMD/ Director, Astrophysics Division

RE: Appointment of new members of the Physics of the Cosmos Program Analysis Group (PhysPAG) Executive Committee (EC)

Background:

As stated in the PhysPAG Terms of Reference, the nominal term of the PhysPAG Executive Committee (EC) members is three years. Four members of the PhysPAG EC are scheduled to rotate off in December 2021. The remaining members of the EC have terms expiring after December 2021 (see Table 3). Accordingly, new members of the PhysPAG EC need to be appointed for terms starting in December 2021 and ending in December 2024.

On September 22, 2021, NASA HQ issued a "Dear Colleague" letter to the U.S. community seeking expressions of interest in joining the PhysPAG EC. The deadline for nominations to the PhysPAG EC was October 29, 2021, which was subsequently extended to November 12, 2021.

Criteria for Selection:

The following criteria and considerations were adopted for selection of the EC nominees:

- 1. New members of the PhysPAG EC should be recognized experts in fields pertinent to the Physics of the Cosmos Program's science and technology objectives and should have demonstrated ability to lead studies or interest groups in the areas central to this theme;
- 2. Balance among the primary PCOS science disciplines (e.g., Particle Astrophysics, Gamma-ray Astrophysics, X-ray Astrophysics, Gravitational Wave Astrophysics, CMB, and Dark Energy); and
- 3. Broad and diverse representation of the PCOS community.

Selections:

I am appointing the individuals listed in Table 1 to serve as PhysPAG EC members with terms to start in December 2021 and end in December 2024. In addition, I am extending the term of Dr. Ryan Hickox, as well as appointing him as PhysPAG EC Chair Emeritus (Table 2).

I hereby appoint Dr. Grant Tremblay as PhysPAG EC Chair and appoint Dr. Justin Finke as PhysPAG EC Vice Chair.

The final composition of the PhysPAG EC is presented in Table 3, with PhysPAG EC members serving as chairs of the standing Science Interest Groups (SIGs) based on their expertise, presented in Table 3.

Note: The key to the expertise of each EC member is provided in the Appendix to this memorandum.

Table 1: New members of the PhysPAG EC

Name	Institution	Expertise	End
David Pooley	Trinity University	XR SIG	Dec-24
Athina Meli	North Carolina A&T	CoS SIG	Dec-24
Eric Burns	Louisiana State Univ.	GR SIG / GW SIG	Dec-24
Kristin Madsen	GSFC	XR SIG	Dec-24

Table 2: Current member with one-year extension to their term

Name	Institution	Expertise
Ryan Hickox	Dartmouth College	XR SIG

Table 3: Resulting PhysPAG EC membership

Name	Institution	Expertise	End
David Pooley	Trinity Univ.	XR SIG	Dec-24
Athina Meli	North Carolina A&T	CR SIG	Dec-24
Ryan Hickox (Chair Emeritus)	Dartmouth College	XR SIG	Dec-22
Eric Burns	Louisiana State Univ.	GW SIG / GR SIG	Dec-24
Kristin Madsen	GSFC	XR SIG	Dec-24
Sean McWilliams	WVU	GW SIG	Dec-22
Bindu Rani	SURA, GSFC	GR SIG	Dec-22
Grant Tremblay (Chair)	SAO	XR SIG	Dec-22
Justin Finke (Vice Chair)	NRL	GR SIG	Dec-23
Vera Gluscevic	Univ. of Southern California	CoS SIG	Dec-23
Andrew Romero-Wolf	JPL	CR SIG	Dec-23

Paul Hertz

Director, Astrophysics Division Science Mission Directorate

Appendix: PhysPAG Science Interest Groups

CoSSIG	Cosmic Structure Science Interest Group
CR SIG	Cosmic Ray Science Interest Group
GW SIG	Gravitational Wave Science Interest Group
IP SIG	Inflation Probe Science Interest Group
XR SIG	X-ray Science Interest Group
GR SIG	Gamma-ray Science Interest Group

Ref: https://pcos.gsfc.nasa.gov/physpag/physpag-sigs.php