National Aeronautics and Space Administration

#### Headquarters

Washington, DC 20546-0001



December 23, 2020

From: SMD/ Director, Astrophysics Division

RE: Appointment of new members of the Physics of the Cosmos Program Analysis Group (PhysPAG) Executive Committee (EC)

## Background:

As stated in the PhysPAG Terms of Reference, the nominal term of the PhysPAG Executive Committee (EC) members is three years. Seven members of the PhysPAG EC are scheduled to rotate off in December 2020. The remaining members of the EC have terms expiring after December 2020 (see Table 3). Accordingly, new members of the PhysPAG EC need to be appointed for terms starting in December 2020 and ending in December 2023.

On September 15, 2020, NASA HQ issued a "Dear Colleague" letter to the U.S. community seeking expressions of interest in joining the PhysPAG EC. The deadline for nominations to the PhysPAG EC was October 23, 2020, which was subsequently extended to November 6, 2020.

### Criteria for Selection:

The following criteria and considerations were adopted for selection of the EC nominees:

- 1. New members of the PhysPAG EC should be recognized experts in fields pertinent to the Physics of the Cosmos Program's science and technology objectives and should have demonstrated ability to lead studies or interest groups in the areas central to this theme;
- 2. Balance among the primary PCOS science disciplines (e.g., Particle Astrophysics, Gamma-ray Astrophysics, X-ray Astrophysics, Gravitational Wave Astrophysics, CMB, and Dark Energy).
- 3. Broad and diverse representation of the PCOS community.

#### Selections:

I am appointing the individuals listed in Table 1 to serve as PhysPAG EC members with terms to start in December 2020 and end in December 2023. In addition, I am extending the term of Dr. Graça Rocha, as well as appointing her as PhysPAG EC Chair Emeritus. I am also extending the term of Dr. Kevin Huffenberger by one year. I hereby appoint Dr. Ryan Hickox as PhysPAG EC Chair and

appoint Dr. Grant Tremblay as PhysPAG EC Vice Chair. The final composition of the EC is presented in Table 3. The PhysPAG EC members serve as chairs of the standing Science Interest Groups (SIGs) based on their expertise, presented in Table 3.

Note: The key to the expertise of each EC member is provided in the Appendix to this memorandum.

Table 1: New members of the PhysPAG EC

Name	Institution	Expertise	End
Justin Finke	NRL	GR SIG	Dec-23
Vera Gluscevic	University of Southern California	CoS SIG	Dec-23
Andrew Romero-Wolf	JPL	CR SIG	Dec-23

Table 2: Current members with one-year extensions to their terms

Name	Institution	Expertise
Graça Rocha	JPL	IP SIG/CoS SIG
Kevin Huffenberger	Florida State Univ.	CoS SIG/IP SIG

Table 3: Resulting PhysPAG EC membership

Name	Institution	Expertise	End
Kevin Huffenberger	Florida State Univ.	CoS SIG/IP SIG	Dec-21
Graça Rocha (Chair Emeritus)	JPL	IP SIG/CoS SIG	Dec-21
Ryan Hickox (Chair)	Dartmouth College	XR SIG	Dec-21
Marcos Santander	Univ. of Alabama	CR SIG	Dec-21
Jillian Bellovary	Queensborough Comm. College	GW SIG/XR SIG	Dec-22
Sean McWilliams	WVU	GW SIG	Dec-22
Bindu Rani	SURA, GSFC	GR SIG	Dec-22
Grant Tremblay (Vice Chair)	SAO	XR SIG	Dec-22
Justin Finke	NRL	GR SIG	Dec-23
Vera Gluscevic	University of Southern California	CoS SIG	Dec-23
Andrew Romero-Wolf	JPL	CR SIG	Dec-23

Paul Hertz
Director, Astrophysics Division
Science Mission Directorate

# Appendix: PhysPAG Science Interest Groups

CoSSIG	Cosmic Structure Science Interest Group
CR SIG	Cosmic Ray Science Interest Group
<b>GW SIG</b>	Gravitational Wave Science Interest Group
IP SIG	Inflation Probe Science Interest Group
XR SIG	X-ray Science Interest Group
GR SIG	Gamma-ray Science Interest Group

 $Ref: \underline{https://pcos.gsfc.nasa.gov/physpag/physpag-sigs.php}$