National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Headquarters

Washington, DC 20546-0001



November 8, 2019

From: SMD/ Director, Astrophysics Division

RE: Appointment of new members of the Physics of the Cosmos Program Analysis Group

(PhysPAG) Executive Committee (EC)

Background:

As stated in the PhysPAG Terms of Reference, the nominal term of the PhysPAG Executive Committee (EC) members is three years. Four members of the PhysPAG EC are rotating off in December 2019. The remaining members of the EC have terms expiring after December 2019 (see Table 3). Accordingly, new members of the PhysPAG EC need to be appointed for terms starting in December 2019 and ending in December 2022.

On August 28, 2019, NASA issued a "Dear Colleague" letter to the U.S. community seeking expressions of interest in joining the PhysPAG EC. The deadline for nominations to the PhysPAG EC was September 30, 2019.

Criteria for Selection:

The following criteria and considerations were adopted for selection of the EC nominees:

- 1. New members of the PhysPAG EC should be recognized experts in fields pertinent to the Physics of the Cosmos Program's science and technology objectives and should have demonstrated ability to lead studies or interest groups in the areas central to this theme;
- 2. Balance among the primary PCOS science disciplines (e.g., Particle Astrophysics, Gammaray Astrophysics, X-ray Astrophysics, Gravitational Wave Astrophysics, Cosmic Microwave Background Astrophysics, and Dark Energy Astrophysics).
- 3. Broad and diverse representation of the PCOS community.

Selections:

I am appointing the individuals listed in Table 1 to serve as PhysPAG EC members with terms to start in December 2019 and end in December 2022. In addition, I am extending the term of Dr. John Conklin by one year, in order to coincide with his service on the Astrophysics Advisory

Committee, as well as appointing him as PhysPAG EC Chair Emeritus. I am also extending the term of Dr. Sylvain Guiriec by one year. I hereby appoint Dr. Graça Rocha as PhysPAG EC Chair and appoint Dr. Ryan Hickox as PhysPAG EC Vice Chair. The final composition of the EC is presented in Table 3. The PhysPAG EC members serve as chairs of the standing Science Interest Groups (SIGs) based on their expertise, presented in Table 3.

Note: The key to the expertise of each EC member is provided in the Appendix to this memorandum.

Table 1: New members of the PhysPAG EC

Name	Institution	Expertise	End
Jillian Bellovary	Queensborough Comm Coll	GW SIG	Dec-22
Sean McWilliams	WVU	GW SIG	Dec-22
Bindu Rani	SURA, GSFC	GR SIG	Dec-22
Grant Tremblay	SAO	XR SIG	Dec-22

Table 2: Current members with one-year extensions to their terms

Name	Institution	Expertise	End
John Conklin	Univ. of Florida	GW SIG	Dec-20
Sylvain Guiriec	George Washington Univ.	GR SIG	Dec-20

Table 3: Resulting PhysPAG EC membership

Name	Institution	Expertise	End
John Conklin (Chair Emeritus)	Univ. of Florida	GW SIG	Dec-20
Sylvain Guiriec	George Washington Univ.	GR SIG	Dec-20
Kevin Huffenberger	Florida State Univ.	CoS SIG/IP SIG	Dec-20
James Rhoads	GSFC	CoS SIG	Dec-20
Graça Rocha (Chair)	JPL	IP SIG/CoS SIG	Dec-20
Abigail Vieregg	Univ. of Chicago	IP SIG/CR SIG	Dec-20
Nicolas Yunes	Univ. of Illinois	GW SIG	Dec-20
Ryan Hickox (Vice Chair)	Dartmouth College	XR SIG	Dec-21
Marcos Santander	Univ. of Alabama	CR SIG	Dec-21
Jillian Bellovary	Queensborough Comm Coll	GW SIG/XR SIG	Dec-22
Sean McWilliams	WVU	GW SIG	Dec-22
Bindu Rani	SURA, GSFC	GR SIG	Dec-22
Grant Tremblay	SAO	XR SIG	Dec-22

Paul Hertz

Director, Astrophysics Division Science Mission Directorate

Appendix: PhysPAG Science Interest Groups

Cosmic Structure Science Interest Group CoSIG **CRSIG** Cosmic Ray Science Interest Group

Gravitational Wave Science Interest Group **GWSIG** Inflation Probe Science Interest Group **IPSIG**

X-ray Science Interest Group **XRSIG**

Gamma-ray Science Interest Group **GRSIG**

Ref: https://pcos.gsfc.nasa.gov/physpag/physpag-sigs.php